Ikigai: a reason for a living, life purpose
Ikigai, BetterUp

1 Ikigai

Discover your purpose in life

Determine the reason you wake up each morning.

Choose something that aligns with your strengths, passions, and the needs of the world.

This is what gives life meaning.

2 Shikita ga nai

Let go of what you cannot change.

Recognize that there are some things are just out of our control, and that’s okay. Let go and focus on what you can change.

3 Wabi-sabi

Find peace in imperfection.

Recognize that nothing in life is perfect, including yourself and others.

Instead of striving for flawlessness, find joy in the imperfections that make life unique.

4 Gaman

Preserve your dignity during tough times.

Show emotional maturity and self-control, even when faces with challenges.

Remember to be patient, resilient, and understanding.

5 Oubaitori

Don’t compare yourself to others.

Everyone has a different timeline and unique path.

It’s important to focus on your own progress, rather than trying to measure yourself against others.

6 Kaizen

Always seek to improve in all areas of your life.

Even small changes can add up and make a big impact over time.

7 Shu-Ha-Ri

“When the student is ready, the teacher will appear. When the student is truly ready, the teacher will disappear.” – Tao Te Ching

It is a way of thinking about how to learn and master a technique. There are 3 stages to acquiring knowledge:

  1. Shu: Learn the basics by following the teaching of one master. Imitating the work of great masters also falls in this stage.
  2. Ha: Start experimenting, learn from masters, and integrate the learning into practice.
  3. Ri: This stage focuses on innovation and the ability to apply your learning to a variety of situtations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *